

Worthing Excelsior Cycling Club



PRESIDENT - ROBERT DOWNHAM

Open 25 Mile Time Trial Sunday 12th May 2019

Course G25/93

Ray Douglass Memorial Event

Event Secretary: Claire Booker

39 Turner Road, Worthing, West Sussex BN14 8PY Tel 07871 159129 mailto:claire@clazza.co.uk

Promoted for and on behalf of Cycling Time Trials under their rules and regulations.

HQ

Steyning Centre

Fletcher's Croft Steyning West Sussex

Postcode BN44 3XZ

Open from 06:00

Plenty of parking is available.

Thank you in advance for not wearing cycling shoes or cleats in the hall.

Numbers at HQ only. After the event please return your race number to the event HQ and complete the sign-out sheet in exchange for a cup of tea or coffee.

HQ to start: 1.63 miles

Finish to HQ: 1.94 miles

Route to start:

Left out of the car park to the mini roundabout, then right onto the High Street. Proceed North to the A283junction. Left and then immediately right onto the B2135, and continue to the start near top of hill.



Course G25/93

OFFICIAL TIME KEEPERS

Tony Palmer Mick Irons							
Prizes							
£30 £20	1st Lady	£30	Fastest Team of 3	£30			
£10			1st Vet on VTTA Std 2nd Vet on VTTA Std	£30 £20			
	Mick Irons £30 £20	Mick Irons Worthin	Mick Irons Worthing Excelsior CC Prizes £30 £20 1st Lady £30	Mick Irons Worthing Excelsior CC Prizes £30 £30 £10 1st Lady £30 Fastest Team of 3 1st Vet on VTTA Std			

Please Note: 1 prize per rider for individual categories. This means that where a rider has won or placed in 2 prize categories, the prize for the win or place in the second prize category will go to the next eligible rider for that category. This does not apply to the Team Prize.

PAST WINNERS

1996	Neil Baker	Velo Club Deal	56:20
1997	Sean Yates	Teamclean/Freshstart	53:23
1998	Tim Stevens	Teamclean/Freshstart	56:06
1999	Michael Hutchinson	Cambridge University CC	53:35
2000	Keith Read	34th Nomads	54:19
2001	Richard Prebble	Geen Team / Team onbekend	52:36
2002	James Dear	In Gear RT	54:29
2003	Steve Dennis	East Grinstead CC	56:24
2004	Matthew Bottrill	Jim Walker RT	51:58
2005	Leon Wright	Sigma Sport RT	55:22
2006	Steve Dennis	East Grinstead CC	54:15
2007	Steve Frame	Eastbourne Rovers	55:34
2008	Guy Powdrill	London Dynamo	54:35
2009	Laurence Harding	Shorter Rochford RT	53:35
2010	Dave Wheeler	Rye Wheelers	52:13
2011	Steve Dennis	East Grinstead CC	52:26
2012	Steve Dennis	East Grinstead CC	52:56
2013	Steve Kane	Brighton Excelsior CC	53:30
2014	Sean Scott	In Gear Quickvit Trainsharp RT	52:23
2015	Conall Yates	In Gear Quickvit Trainsharp RT	52:41
2016	Pete Tadros	In Gear Quickvit Trainsharp RT	52:06
2017	Pete Tadros	In Gear Quickvit Trainsharp RT	51:50
2018	James Rix	Team Bottrill / Vanguard	50:58

Open 25 mile Time Trial Sunday 12th May 2019 Course G25/93



www.worthingexcelsior.co.uk

COURSE DIRECTIONS – G25/93	MILES
START on B2135 near Steyning at first arrow sign just south of entrance to Wappingthorn Manor	0.00
Proceed northwards on B2135 via Ashurst and Partridge Green to T junction with A24 at West	6.68
Grinstead	
LEFT and follow A24 south to Washington RBT (roundabout) (CHECK)	12.56
LEFT 1 st exit and follow A283 via Bramber Castle and Beeding Court RBTs to Adur Bridge RBT,	
Shoreham, where <u>TURN</u> (CHECK)	20.98
4 th exit to retrace on A283 via Beeding Court and Bramber Castle RBTs to FINISH at paint mark	25.00
on curb opposite TP3 approximately 25 yards before Canons Way	

Link to Garmin Connect version of the course map G25/93

Please note the following CTT regulations and recommendations

Helmets: CTT regulations require the compulsory use of helmets for the under 18s. In the interests of your own safety, Cycling Time Trials and the event promoters strongly advise all competitors to wear a hard/soft shell helmet that meets internationally accepted safety standards.

Competitors' Machines: It is recommended that a working rear light, either flashing or constant, is fitted to the machine in a position clearly visible to following road users and is active while the machine is in use.

Competitors' Vehicles: No vehicles, except those of timekeepers and event officials, shall be parked in the vicinity of the start or finish (District regulation).

Safety Instructions: Details of any additional hazards not listed on the start sheet will be displayed at the signing on point.

Warming Up: Competitors are requested not to warm up on the course after the event has started.

Observers: Official observers will be stationed around the course to ensure correct procedure (e.g. drafting and safety at roundabouts).

Results: No times will be given out at the finish line.

Race Numbers: The race number is made of fluorescent material which is an important safety feature. It is essential that it is placed correctly for maximum visibility to other road users and of course the timekeepers.

Body numbers should be fitted in accordance with Regulation 16 and Arm Numbers should be fitted to the upper arm with the number facing forwards (not inwards).

HERE

Be aware that "No time may be recorded if the number is incorrectly positioned".

Open 25 mile Time Trial Sunday 12th May 2019 Course G25/93

Start	Rider	Name	Club	Cat/	VTTA
Time	No	Name	Club	Age	Std
07:32	2	Noel Miles	East Grinstead Tri Club	V42	1:06:27
07:33	3	Simon Powell	Redhill CC	V51	1:08:15
07:34	4	Peter Owen	Norwood Paragon CC	V58	1:09:44
07:35	5	Stu Nisbett	Crawley Wheelers	V45	1:07:05
07:36	6	Martin Booker	South Downs Bikes / Casco Pet	V50	1:08:03
07:37	7	Colin Toppin	Worthing Excelsior CC	V46	1:07:16
07:38	8	Vince Freeman	Brighton Triathlon Club	S39	
07:39	9	Philip Frean	Worthing Excelsior CC	V64	1:11:24
07:40	10	Paul Batten	Crawley Wheelers	S35	
07:41	11	Alena Jobson	Crawley Wheelers	WS39	
07:42	12	Denise Page	Crawley Wheelers	WV56	1:15:13
07:43	13	Wendy Harman	Brighton Mitre CC	WV53	1:14:31
07:44	14	Sharon Chladek	Crawley Wheelers	WV53	1:14:31
07:45	15	Katerina Avramides	Brighton Mitre CC	WS38	
07:46	16	John Marinko	Brighton Mitre CC	V54	1:08:51
07:47	17	Simon Steeles	Worthing Excelsior CC	V48	1:07:40
07:48	18	Ben Cumpstone	Brighton Mitre CC	V49	1:07:51
07:49	19	Chris Woods	Crawley Wheelers	S30	
07:50	20	David Shepherd	a3crg	V58	1:09:44
07:51	21	Trevor Leeding	Worthing Excelsior CC	V53	1:08:38
07:52	22	Christian Benneyworth	WyndyMilla	V46	1:07:16
07:53	23	Rick Hughes	Worthing Excelsior CC	V56	1:09:16
07:54	24	Darren King	Brighton Excelsior CC	V42	1:06:27
07:55	25	Dan Pullen	N+1 - Lindfield Coffee Works	V43	1:06:40
07:56	26	Mike O'Gorman	Worthing Excelsior CC	V67	1:12:27
07:57	27	Donald Parker	Brighton Mitre CC	V70	1:13:42
07:58	28	Russell Thorne-jones	Crawley Wheelers	V46	1:07:16
07:59	29	Ben Fielden	GS Stella	V77	1:17:42
08:00	30	Mark Smith	Crawley Wheelers	V45	1:07:05
08:01	31	Lawrence Wintergold	Hounslow & District Whs	V54	1:08:51
08:02	32	Jon Fry	Horsham Cycling	V48	1:07:40
08:03	33	Simon Arnold	Oxted Cycle Club	S26	
08:04	34	Peter Davies	Brighton Mitre CC	V62	1:10:47
08:05	35	Christian Yates	East Grinstead CC (Merlin Cycle Coaching)	V56	1:09:16
08:06	36	Nolan Heather	Worthing Excelsior CC	V43	1:06:40
08:07	37	Simon Underwood	СС Торр	V48	1:07:40
08:08	38	Richard Burchett	Lewes Wanderers CC	V48	1:07:40
08:09	39	Clive Jackson	Central Sussex CC	V67	1:12:27
08:10	40	James Rix	Team Bottrill	V43	1:06:40